My Blog


Visual Representations data
February 24, 2009, 2:29 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

My first artifact was to compile a number of photos to represent some some facts about a certain subject. I decided to compile the photo’s on facts about my own life.

The first picture I chose to do was of my bed, with text saying approximately how many hours in my life I have slept, I chose this subject because sleep is one of the biggest parts of any of our lives, some of us sleep for up to a third of our lives. Also the average amount of sleep that you are supposed to have per day is 8 hours, unfortunately many of us do not have enough time to sleep for that long, so many of us suffer from sleep deprivation and get angry or tired.

The second picture I chose to do was something centred around styling hair, he reason for chosing this was many of us spend large amounts of time styling their hair, I myself spend around 20 minutes every day drying and straightening my hair, when you think about how long that is just in a few months, it is a very long time, also many people argue about how much styling your hair can do so much damage, so my photo could not only make people aware of the vast amount of time, but also the vast amount of damage done to our hair. In addition to this my photo could also point out the fact that spending so much time doing your hair can help influence sleep deprivation because people often have to get up earlier so they leave enough time to do it.

My third picture was to show how much time I spend on the bus, this is because the bus takes 20-25 minutes to get from my house to the University and vice versa, this is a long time in my opinion and as shown in my photo, the time spend gathers up rather quickly. However it does put a good perspective because it shows how much time I’m using public transport rather than getting a lift from the family in the car, thus meaning I am saving on carbon emissions and in turn helping the environment.

My fourth picture is of a pool table, this is because playing pool has been a large part of my life for a number of years, ever since I could walk I’ve been playing pool, from a small 6ft – 3ft wooden table in my room, to the now full size slate bed snooker tables, I hope to carry on playing for the rest of my life and compete in tournaments, or maybe even create my own tournament.

My fifth picture is based around football, Manchester United in fact, they were the first ever team i saw on TV when I was 4 years old, they lost the game 3-0 but I fell in love with the team’s style of play. I decided to include this in my slideshow because of the usual ‘glory supporter’ tag that is handed to me everyday, it sickens me when people call me a glory fan even though they don’t know the first think about me, my football tastes, reasons for supporting the club and is just to all those people out there who put me down for supporting the club, I have been loyal to the club for 16 years and will carry on doing so for the rest of my life.

My sixth Picture is based around console gaming. In this generation, console gaming is a huge part of the everyday life of a person, many of us have had 2 or more of the console systems, I, myself have had six consoles ranging from the very early playstation 1 to one of the newest next generation consoles, the xbox 360. I have a huge knowledge about the console industry and have also worked for both HMV and Gamestation, these are 2 of the biggest console gaming stores in the UK, I feel that this has vastly influenced my life.

My seventh picture is of the browser for the online gaming site, www.funkypool.com, I have been a member of this site for over 2 years now and have won over 70 of the hourly tournaments, they also have a clan tournament, where there are 8 clans of 6 players in each clan, this event happens by playing a certain player each week, I have taken part in 3 of the 4 season’s it has been running and the clan I was with won the second season. I feel that this has influenced my life so much, because I spend way too much time on it and have met many friends on the site.

My eighth picture is of many different album art covers, this is because music is probably the biggest  thing in my life, I have more than 8000 songs on my Ipod and am constantly listening to music, I am a big fan of all types of rock music.

My final picture is of my computer, this is because I spend way too much time on it, all of the time I’m at home I am doing something on my computer, whether it be listening to music, playing on games, or just generally browsing the internet.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

